Student Achievements

  • Hunter Owsley and Katlin Amos of South High School won the prestigious and highly competitive National Horatio Alger Scholarship.  Hunter and Katlin were the only two students selected from the state of Kansas.  Each will receive a $25,000 scholarship and will be honored in Washington DC at the national conference March 29th to April 2nd.


    Almost $43 million in scholarships were awarded to Wichita Public Schools class of 2016.


    Ten students were named semi-finalists for the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program - all ten were East High School students.National Merit Scholars


    Cadet Josiah Maxwell of West High has been selected by to attend Freedoms Foundation at Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, educational workshop.


    Six students from Robinson: Aaron Reith, Teddy Barfield, Akadius Smith, Alex Mandanis, Jackson Hudgins, and Abir Haque qualified for the National History Bee in Chicago. Three of these students, Teddy Barfield, Alex Mandanis, and Jackson Hudgins, scored in the top 10 for their grade-level and competed in the championship round of the regional tournament. Barfield won 1st place in the eighth-grade championship.


    Five of our students were selected as Emerging Programmer Apprentices for Tallgrass Film Festival.


    Elis Thompson, senior at Northwest High School, was selected to perform in the National Association for Music Education All-National Honor Choir.


    Alyssa Ward, Southeast High School, received the 2015 Wichita State University's Clay Barton Scholarship – the largest business scholarship in Kansas.


    Kenneth Santiago, South High School, and Laura Shine, Northwest High School, received the Cardinal Newman Scholarship - the highest-valued award from Newman University, worth 4 years of tuition and fees.

    Charlotte Rippy, East High School, received the Wallace Scholarship from Wichita State University's College of Engineering.

    Jocelyn Galicia, East High School, received the Fran Jabara Scholarship in Entrepreneurship at Wichita State University.Top Scholarship Recipients

    Thomas Schmidt, Northwest High School, and Taylor Williams, East High School, received Koch Scholarships from WSU's Honors College.

    Simeon Willis and Tajahnae Stocker, Southeast High School, and Melissa Tovar, North High School, earned $20,000 Dell Scholarships.

    Sierra Forester, East High School and Johnathan Ho, South High School, received Horatio Alger Scholarships. 


    Leon Chau, Heights High School, was one of the winners of Wichita State University's College of Education Klose Scholarship Essay Competition.


    Culinary Arts students from South High School, represented the Wichita Public Schools in the National Cooking Up Change culinary competition in Washington, DC.


    Britt Leake, East High School, was selected for the U.S. Senate Youth Program in Washington, D.C.


    Megan Keller, Northwest High School, was named one of Kansas' top youth volunteers in the 2015 Prudential Spirit of Community Awards.

    Maela Stevens, Wilbur Middle School, was named a 2015 National AVID Superstar.


    Many high and middle school students were recognized for their artistic abilities with the Kansas 2016 Scholastic Art Awards. 


    Callie Hernandez, Seltzer Elementary, won the 2016 Wichita River Festival Tot Trot t-shirt design contest.


    Ten student-athletes were nominated for the 2014 Wendy's High School Heisman Awards for excelling in academics, athletics and community service.


    South High School won the Girls 6A State Basketball Championship for 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016.


    Fourteen students were honored with the 2015 Career and Technical Education Pathway Awards.

    East High School won the Boys 6A State Basketball Championship for 2015.

    Heights High School won the Boys 5A State Basketball Championship for 2015.

    Heights High School won the Boys 5-1A State Swimming Championship for 2015.

    2015 Individual State Champions: Bowling - Rebecca King, Heights and Cody Hubbard, Northwest; State wrestling - Dylan Brazell, Northwest; Sean Deshazer, Heights; Asiel Flores and Dallas Wilson, South. 


    Piper Hartzler, Gardiner Elementary, was named a 2014 State Ambassador for the Fuel Up to Play 60 Program, sponsored by the National Football League and the Midwest Dairy Council.


    Mayberry Cultural and Fine Arts Magnet’s Robotics Team won First Place medals in the Western Kansas Robotics Competition.

    Brooks, Bostic, Christa McAuliffe Academy, College Hill Franklin, Gammon, McLean and Mueller competed in the Shocker MINDSTORMS Challenge.


    Every student at East High School volunteered in more than 140 places in the Wichita area during the school's eighth-annual ACES in the Community event.


    Twenty-five students honored by The Wichita Eagle as 2015 Soaring Students for their commitment to their academics as well as their community service.