• Excellence in Public Service Award

    Terri Moses with the DeVore Family and district leaders


  • 2024 Wichita Public Schools Honoree

    Terri Moses, Division Director of Safety and Environmental Services for Wichita Public Schoolsl, has been selected as the 2024 Excellence in Public Service Award winner for the Wichita Public Schools.

    Read more about the winner.

  • Recognizing employees who make our community a better place

    The Excellence in Public Service Award Program usually honors up to three public service employees each year whose work performance and community activities transcend the ordinary. Through this program, the City of Wichita, Sedgwick County and Wichita Public Schools also acknowledge the contributions of thousands of other dedicated public servants who, day after day, perform the tasks that make our community a great place to live and work.

    The award winners are selected from among thousands of eligible workers and have represented all ranks and levels of public service. Each winner demonstrates some combination of the following attributes essential to excellent public service:

    • Exemplary performance that has contributed to the public interest,
    • Innovative problem-solving skills that have improved service delivery,
    • Adherence to high ethical standards in carrying out job responsibilities,
    • A record of community involvement through participation in civic organizations; and
    • Significant contribution toward COVID-19 response in the workplace and/or community


    Honorees will be selected by a committee comprised of nine public and private sector representatives.

    Due to the cancellation of last year's awards, the DeVore Foundation will honor up to six winners (two per organization) should those nominations meet the criteria. In August, they will be surprised at work by their supervisors, colleagues, selection committee members and media. Each award winner is rewarded with a $2500 check and will be honored at a reception in September attended by family, friends, co-workers, previous honorees, the selection committee and members of the DeVore Foundation. 

    The program, sponsored by the DeVore Foundation and KSN, is in its 35th year.


    Prior Wichita Public Schools recipients have represented all facets of the district. See the list below.