• 2024 Distinguished Classroom Teachers

    2024 Distinguished Classroom Teachers group photo


    Photo caption from left: Julie Dunkleberger, Ashley Welsh, Matt Miller, Whitney Steele, Jeff Arellano, Emmy Bramble, Sam Belsan, Jessica Petrik. Click here to watch videos of each of the recipients


    Distinguished Classroom Teacher Awards

    The Distinguished Classroom Teacher Award program recognizes outstanding teachers who affect the quality of education in the Wichita Public Schools. It is the highest award bestowed by the district on its teaching staff.


    Each year, awards are given in eight different categories - new teacher (elementary), new teacher (secondary), primary (Pre-K through 2), intermediate (3 through 5), middle school, high school, support (elementary) and support (secondary) teachers.


    A selection committee made up of teachers, school and district-level administrators, the executive directors of elementary and secondary schools and a member of the United Teachers of Wichita reviews the nominations and makes the final selections.


    The award recipients are recognized by the Board of Education and each receives a crystal award and $20 in PTR Bucks to be used at Parent Teacher Resources. Their schools also receive a commemorative banner featuring their award-winning teacher.


    The 2024 Distinguished Classroom Teacher Award honorees were surprised with news of their awards on March 22 by Board of Education members, district leaders and their family members.

  • Distinguished Classroom Teachers 2022

    Distinguished Classroom Teachers 2022  

     Photo from left: Megan Campbell, Abbi Faflick, Sue Ake, Sue Puetz, James Quillen, Jennifer Pollard, Kimberlee Hughes, and Joanna Farmer  

    Distinguished Classroom Teachers 2021

    Photo of Distinguished Classroom Teacher Honorees 2021

     2021 Distinguished Classroom Teachers, Photo from left: Kelsey Potter, Heather Manganiello, Mike Williams, Kelli Phimsiprasom, Jonathan Belsan, Crystal Firestone, Courtney Maddux and Alexandra Stamps.

    Distinguished Classroom Teachers 2020

    DCTA honorees 2018

    2020 Distinguished Classroom Teachers (back row) Denise Van Horn, Leigh Kasper, Sam Belsan, Darham Rogers and Afton Miller; (front row) Tiffany Peterson, Lisa Reeb and Catherine Busick.

    Distinguished Classroom Teachers 2019

    Distinguished Classroom Teachers 2017

    2019 Distinguished Classroom Teachers (left to right) Keely PJ Tolbert, Ashley Cavazos, Kimberly Knox, Cathy Boote, Kate Skinner, Susan Moore and Sarah Gegen.