Return to Headlines

Distinguished Classroom Teachers recognized

Distinguished Classroom Teachers recognized

Group photo of 2021 Distinguished Classroom Teachers The Wichita Public Schools recognized the 2021 Distinguished Classroom Teacher Award recipients in their respective categories during the April 19 Board of Education meeting. The teachers were recognized individually and videos highlighting their work in the classroom were shown.

Alexandra Stamps, 5th grade teacher at McLean Science & Technology Magnet Elementary – New Teacher, Elementary. Click here to watch Alexandra Stamps’ video.

Kelsey Potter, 7th grade science teacher at Stucky Middle School – New Teacher, Secondary category. Click here to watch Kelsey Potter’s video.

Kelli Phimsiprasom, 1st grade teacher at Linwood Elementary School – Primary (Grades Pre-K – 2) category. Click here to watch Kelli Phimsiprasom’s video.

Courtney Maddux, 3rd grade teacher at Harry Street Elementary – Intermediate (Grades 3 – 5) category. Click here to watch Courtney Maddux’s video.

Jonathan Belsan, 6th-8th grade social studies teacher at Coleman Middle School – Middle School category. Click here to watch Jonathan Belsan’s video.

Crystal Firestone, 9th-12th grade mixed abilities teacher at Northwest High School – High School category. Click here to watch Crystal Firestone’s video.

Mike Williams, physical education teacher at Colvin Elementary – Support Teacher, Elementary category. Click here to watch Mike Williams’ video.

Heather Manganiello, social worker at Hamilton Middle School – Support Teacher, Secondary category. Click here to watch Heather Manganiello’s video.

During the meeting, it was announced that Jonathan Belsan and Courtney Maddux will represent the Wichita Public Schools as nominees for the prestigious Kansas Teacher of the Year award this fall. It was also announced that Alexandra Stamps and Kelsey Potter will represent the district for the Kansas Horizon Award competition, which recognizes outstanding first-year teachers.

The recipients were surprised in their schools on March 17 by BOE members, district leadership and members of the selection committee.

The Distinguished Classroom Teacher Awards program honors outstanding teachers who affect the quality of education in the Wichita Public Schools. Peers, building administrators or parents have nominated each of the recipients. A committee consisting of principals, assistant principals, teachers, support staff, the assistant superintendents of elementary and secondary schools and a member of United Teachers of Wichita selects the final recipients. 

To view prior recipients, click here.

Photo from left: Kelsey Potter, Heather Manganiello, Mike Williams, Kelli Phimsiprasom, Jonathan Belsan, Crystal Firestone, Courtney Maddux and Alexandra Stamps.





April 19, 2021