Return to Headlines

Eight WPS students named National Merit semi-finalists

Eight WPS students named National Merit semi-finalists 

The National Merit Scholarship Program has named eight semi-finalists from the Wichita Public Schools. The 2022 semi-finalists are East High students Miles Crawford, Molly Ha, Vivian Lu, Eva McKinzie, Samuel Morris and Varun Verma; Heights High School student Toller Phipps; and Northeast Magnet High School student Alexander Gleason. 

Click here to watch a video of the student surprise announcements.

High school juniors entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. 

Students become National Merit finalists through an application process and completing the SAT. Scholarship winners will be chosen on the basis of academic skills and achievements, extracurricular accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies. 

National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in the spring.