Return to Headlines

Six WPS schools receive Challenge Awards

Six schools receive Challenge Awards 

WPS logo Six Wichita Public Schools have been named 2019 Challenge Award winners.

The Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force annually recognizes schools for outstanding achievement and uncommon accomplishment based on Kansas math and reading assessment results and other qualifying factors, specifically the sample size, ethnicity and social-economic status of those taking the test. In addition, graduation rates when calculating high school results, and chronic absenteeism rates for middle and elementary schools, are factored into consideration. 

The schools honored are: 

Middle Schools

  • Allison Traditional Magnet Middle School
  • Jardine STEM and Career Explorations Magnet Middle School
  • Mayberry Cultural and Fine Arts Magnet Middle School
  • Robinson Middle School 


  • Horace Mann K-8 Dual Language Magnet


Elementary Schools 

  • McLean Science and Technology Magnet Elementary School