Return to Headlines

WPS magnet schools win national recognition

Magnet school principals displaying their award bannersSeven WPS magnet schools have won national recognition from the Magnet Schools of America, the national association for magnet and theme-based schools.

Mayberry Cultural and Fine Arts Magnet Middle School was named a National Magnet School of Excellence, the first such award for any WPS magnet school.

Magnet School of Excellence Awards are only given to a select group of magnet schools. Schools of Excellence are eligible to receive monetary awards and are eligible to be named the nation’s top Elementary, Secondary, or New & Emerging Magnet School.

In addition, six other WPS magnet schools were named Schools of Distinction:

  • Allison Traditional Magnet Middle School
  • Brooks Center for STEM and Arts Magnet Middle School
  • Earhart Environmental Magnet Elementary School
  • Hyde Leadership and International Explorations Magnet Elementary School
  • Jardine STEM and Career Explorations Academy
  • Price-Harris Communications Magnet Elementary School

“We’re thrilled to have so many of our magnet schools recognized nationally,” said Phyllis Cottner, WPS Magnet Curriculum and Instruction Coach. “This is the first time the district has had a school recognized as a School of Excellence and four of the WPS schools named Schools of Distinction, are first-time winners.”

To receive a national merit award, members of Magnet Schools of America must submit a detailed application that is scored by a panel of educators. These schools are judged and scored on their demonstrated ability to raise student academic achievement, promote racial and socioeconomic diversity, provide integrated curricula and instruction, and create strong family and community partnerships that enhance the school’s magnet theme.


March 6, 2023