Return to Headlines

2019 Distinguished Classroom Teachers announced

2019 Distinguished Classroom Teachers announced

Patric Jackson, PE Teacher at Gordon Parks Academy The Wichita Public Schools is proud to announce the 2019 Distinguished Classroom Teacher Award recipients in their respective categories. The recipients were surprised in their classrooms by BOE members, district leadership, members of the selection committee and family members.

Click here to watch the teacher surprises.  To see photos of all the recipients, click here.

The Distinguished Classroom Teacher Awards program honors outstanding teachers who affect the quality of education in the Wichita Public Schools.

Chasmyn Lindeman-Thimesch, 4th grade teacher at Cloud Elementary – New Teacher, Elementary

Runner up: Abigail Tullos, kindergarten teacher at Enders Community Service and Leadership Magnet

Taylor Offerle, math teacher at Heights High School – New Teacher, Secondary category
Runner up: Austin Clift, journalism teacher at East High School

Marnie Baxter, 2nd grade teacher at McCollom Elementary – Primary (Grades Pre-K – 2) category

Runner up: Meredith Compton, kindergarten teacher at Cloud Elementary

Allison Drake, 3rd grade teacher at Minneha Core Knowledge Magnet – Intermediate (Grades 3 – 5) category

Runner up: Monica Gossen Hunnell, 3rd grade teacher at Allen Elementary

Patric Jackson, P.E. teacher at Gordon Parks Academy – Middle School category

Runner up: Catherine Arellano, P.E. teacher at Coleman Middle School

Ann Burgett, English teacher at Northwest High School – High School category

Runner up: Rob Maddux, social studies teacher at Southeast High School

Ashley Reichenborn, music teacher at Bucker Performing Arts and Science Magnet – Support Teacher, Elementary category

Runner up: Allison Stucky, art teacher at Riverside Leadership Magnet

Nicole Herrera, Instructional Coach at Mayberry Cultural and Fine Arts Magnet – Support Teacher, Secondary category

Runner up: Stephanie Bird-Hutchison, teaching specialist at Dunbar Support Center

Each teacher received a banner celebrating their accomplishment and a gift bag filled with WPS items including a gift card from the Parent-Teacher Resource Center.

Peers, building administrators, parents and/or students have nominated each of the recipients. A committee consisting of principals, assistant principals, teachers, support staff, the assistant superintendents of elementary and secondary schools and a member of United Teachers of Wichita selects the final recipients.

To view prior years’ recipients, click here.

The Distinguished Classroom Teachers will be recognized at the March 25 BOE meeting.