Return to Headlines

Six WPS students named National Merit semi-finalists

Six WPS students named National Merit semi-finalists 

The National Merit Scholarship Program has named six semi-finalists from the Wichita Public Schools. The 2021 semi-finalists are East High IB students Azaria Au, Alexander Mandanis, Gabriel Murphy, Magan Stuhr and Aryan Waghmode and Northeast Magnet student Clay Becker.

Over 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. 

Students become National Merit finalists through an application process and completing the SAT. Scholarship winners will be chosen on the basis of academic skills and achievements, extracurricular accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies. 

National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in the spring.