Return to Headlines

Wichita Public Schools announce recipients of the Distinguished Classroom Teacher Awards (3-3-23)

The Wichita Public Schools is proud to announce the 2023 Distinguished Classroom Teacher Award recipients in their respective categories. The recipients will be surprised at their schools Friday, March 3 by BOE members, district leadership and family members. Media are invited to attend the surprise visits.

  • Kristina Matthaei, WPS Instructional Coach – Support Teacher, Secondary category
    Surprise visit: 8:30 a.m., 903 S. Edgemoor, Morris Administrative Center, Media Productions.

  • Kiara Suarez-Sosa, English teacher at East High School – New Teacher, Secondary category;
    Stacy Chestnut, English teacher at East High School – High School Teacher category
    Surprise visit for both teachers: 9:20 a.m., 2301 E. Douglas.

  • Mario Flores, 3rd grade teacher at Gammon Elementary – Intermediate (Grades 3 – 5) category
    Surprise visit: 10:30 a.m., 3240 N. Rushwood St.
  • Erik Cooke-Stone, vocal music teacher at Gordon Parks Academy – Middle School category;
    Surprise visit: 11:20 a.m., 2201 E. 25th St. North.
  • Patrick Loganbill, P.E. teacher at Linwood Elementary School – Support Teacher, Elementary category;
    Surprise visit: 1 p.m., 1654 S. Hydraulic.
  • Jamie Lansang, 3rd grade teacher at Seltzer Elementary School – New Teacher, Elementary category
    Surprise visit: 2 p.m., 11660 E. Lincoln St.

  • Maribel Benedict, kindergarten teacher at Allen Elementary School – Primary (Grades PreK – 2) category
    Surprise visit: 3 p.m., 1881 Elpyco St.

The Distinguished Classroom Teacher Awards program honors outstanding teachers who affect the quality of education in the Wichita Public Schools. Peers, building administrators and/or parents have nominated each of the recipients. A committee consisting of principals, assistant principals, teachers, support staff, the assistant superintendents of elementary and secondary schools and a member of United Teachers of Wichita selects the final recipients.