Return to Headlines

WPS hosts first-ever Civics Bee

WPS hosts first-ever Civics Bee 

National Civics Bee logoThe Wichita Public Schools cohosted the inaugural Wichita Regional of the National Civics Bee, with the Wichita Regional Chamber of Commerce and the Kansas Leadership Center on Tuesday, April 23, at WPS’ Alvin E. Morris Administrative Center, 903 S. Edgemoor.

Click here to watch a video news story of the event.

The Civics Bee tested students’ knowledge of government, civics, and the Constitution in a competition modeled after traditional spelling bees. Twenty-one area middle school students qualified for the event through an essay competition answering the following question: “What is a problem in your community, and how could a citizen work to solve it?” WPS students from Coleman, Hamilton, Mayberry, Robinson and Wilbur qualified for the competition.

The top three placers will win cash prizes and qualify for the Kansas State Finals of the National Civics Bee®. Each state will send its top qualifier to the National Bee.     

Robinson Middle School 8th grader Sneha Kamineni won the event. Two other Robinson students placed second and third: Aurora Vuong and Arhan Chowdhury. 

“This was a great opportunity for our students to learn about civics, compete in an academic activity and share the experience with their families,” said Rob Maddux, secondary social studies specialist in WPS Curriculum and Instruction. “Thanks to the Wichita Chamber of Commerce for partnering with us to provide this great experience for our students.”                                                        

Congratulations to the following WPS students who qualified for the local National Civics Bee:

  • Niecy Regehr, 8th grader, Coleman Environmental Magnet Middle School
  • Samuel Alvarez, 8th grader, Hamilton Middle School
  • Bella Mendenhall, 6th grader, Mayberry Cultural and Fine Arts Magnet Middle School
  • Mirsab Hossain, 6th grader, Robinson Middle School
  • Arham Chowdhury, 7th grader, Robinson Middle School
  • Yixuan Shao, 7th grader, Robinson Middle School
  • Sparsh Chavan, 8th grader, Robinson Middle School
  • Sneha Kamineni, 8th grader, Robinson Middle School
  • Bin Miao, 8th grader, Robinson Middle School
  • Aurora Vuong, 8th grader, Robinson Middle School
  • Eevee Hofhine, 7th grader, Wilbur Middle School