Return to Headlines

First cohort named for WPS Aspiring Leader Program

First cohort named for WPS Aspiring Leader Program

FIrst cohort of Aspiring Leader program


The first cohort has been named for the WPS Aspiring Leader Program which aims to create a pool of highly-qualified and well-trained instructional and relational leaders that stand ready to apply for consideration for any future building leader vacancies.









The following WPS staff have been selected for the first cohort:

  • Art Ballos, science teacher, East High School
  • Marnie Baxter, second-grade teacher, McCollom Elementary School
  • Rachel Cole, specialist, Woodman Elementary School
  • Brooke Dickey, English teacher, Marshall Middle School
  • Tawyna Glover, math intervention, Marshall Middle School
  • Joseph Hamer, second-grade teacher, Riverside Leadership Magnet Elementary School
  • Nathanael Harvey, social studies teacher, Heights High School
  • Tricia Loehr, Student Support Services administrative liaison, Stucky Middle School
  • Muriel Love, Behavior Intervention, Enders Community Service and Leadership Magnet Elementary
  • Shea McGuire, fourth-grade teacher, Franklin Elementary School
  • Briana Salgado, ESOL, Irving Traditional Magnet Elementary School
  • Cassandra Smith, counselor, North High School
  • Emily Tanner, English teacher, North High School
  • Toby Tyner, social studies teacher, Northeast Magnet
  • Megan Weikal, instructional coach, McLean Science and Technology Magnet Elementary School
  • Julie Wilks, instructional coach, Woodman Elementary School


Participants will have semester-long coursework delivered by district leaders, building leaders and external educational experts.

“This program is one part of the district’s growing pipeline to ensure that our students are provided the best staff and leaders to help them pursue educational excellence,” said Chris Wendt, executive director of Elementary Education for WPS, who along with Amanda Kingrey, assistant superintendent for secondary schools, leads the program.

The Aspiring Leader program will launch for the 2021-2022 school year.

More information about the program can be found at