Return to Headlines

Eleven schools receive Challenge Awards

Eleven schools receive Challenge Awards 

2019 Challenge Award Winners Eleven schools have been named 2018 Challenge Award winners by The Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force which annually recognizes schools for outstanding achievement and uncommon accomplishment based on Kansas math and reading assessment results and other qualifying factors, specifically the sample size, ethnicity and social-economic status of those taking the test. In addition, graduation rates when calculating high school results, and chronic absenteeism rates for middle and elementary schools, are factored into consideration.

The schools honored are:

High Schools

  • East High School
  • Northeast Magnet

Middle Schools

  • Allison Traditional Magnet Middle School
  • Mayberry Cultural and Fine Arts Magnet Middle School


  • Horace Mann K-8 Dual Language Magnet

Elementary Schools

  • Cleaveland Traditional College and Career Readiness Magnet Elementary
  • Cloud Elementary School
  • Irving Elementary School
  • Lawrence Elementary School
  • Ortiz Elementary School
  • Woodland Health and Wellness Magnet


The schools will be recognized during the April 8 Board of Education meeting.