Return to Headlines

Distinguished Classroom Teachers recognized

Distinguished Classroom Teachers recognized

At the April 8 Board of Education meeting, the district recognized the 2024 Distinguished Classroom Teacher Award recipients in their respective categories. The recipients were surprised in their classrooms in March by BOE members, district leadership, members of the selection committee and family members.

The Distinguished Classroom Teacher Awards program honors outstanding teachers who affect the quality of education in the Wichita Public Schools.

Watch a video of the surprise visits.

Emmy Bramble,  kindergarten teacher, Beech Elementary School – New Teacher, Elementary

Runner up: Hattie Black, fourth-grade teacher, Harry Street Elementary School

Click here to watch Emilia's video.

Matt Miller, science teacher, Truesdell Middle School
 – New Teacher, Secondary category

Runner up: John Kivett, math teacher at North High School

Click here to watch Matt's video.

Ashley Welsh, kindergarten teacher, Harry Street Elementary School 
– Primary (Grades Pre-K – 2) category

Runner up: Laura Wiebe, kindergarten teacher, Hyde Leadership and International Explorations Magnet Elementary School

Click here to watch Ashley's video.

Whitney Steele, applied academics teacher, Allen Elementary School
– Intermediate (Grades 3 – 5) category

Runner up: Olivia Sumner, virtual teacher, Education Imagine Academy

Click here to watch Whitney's video.

Sam Belsan, social studies teacher, Coleman Environmental Magnet Middle School
 – Middle School category

Runner up: Elizabeth Polson, Spanish teacher, Robinson Middle School

Click here to watch Sam's video.

Julie Dunkelberger, Spanish teacher, East High School
 – High School category

Runner up: Peter Crevoiserat, English teacher, Northwest High School

Click here to watch Julie's video.

Jeffrey Arellano, physical education teacher, Woodland Health and Wellness Magnet Elementary
 School – Support Teacher, Elementary category

Runner up: Leslie Perez, social worker, Gammon Elementary School

Click here to watch Jeffrey's video.

Jessica Petrik, instructional coach, Education Imagine Academy
  – Support Teacher, Secondary category

Runner up: Catherine Arellano, instructional coach, Coleman Environmental Magnet Middle School

Click here to watch Jessica' video.

Peers, building administrators, parents and/or students have nominated each of the recipients. A committee consisting of principals, assistant principals, teachers, support staff, the assistant superintendents of elementary and secondary schools and a member of United Teachers of Wichita selects the final recipients.

To view prior years’ recipients, click here.