Return to Headlines

WPS magnet schools win national recognition

WPS magnet schools win national recognition

2024 Magnet Schools of America logoSix WPS magnet schools have won national recognition from the Magnet Schools of America, the national association for magnet and theme-based schools.

Allison Traditional Magnet Middle School, Hyde Leadership and International Explorations Magnet Elementary School and Mayberry Cultural and Fine Arts Magnet Middle School were each named a National Magnet School of Excellence, the highest achievement for a magnet school. 

This is the first School of Excellence award for Allison and Hyde and the second year in a row Mayberry has won the award.

Magnet School of Excellence Awards are only given to a select group of magnet schools. Schools of Excellence are eligible to receive monetary awards and are eligible to be named the nation’s top Elementary, Secondary, or New & Emerging Magnet School.

In addition, three other WPS magnet schools were named Schools of Distinction: 

  • Brooks Center for STEM and Arts Magnet Middle School
  • Earhart Environmental Magnet Elementary School
  • McLean Science and Technology Magnet Elementary School

“We’re thrilled to have our magnet schools recognized nationally and to have three schools receive the highest honor of being named a School of Excellence,” said Phyllis Cottner, WPS Magnet Curriculum and Instruction Coach.

To receive a national merit award, members of Magnet Schools of America must submit a detailed application that is scored by a panel of educators. These schools are judged and scored on their demonstrated ability to raise student academic achievement, promote racial and socioeconomic diversity, provide integrated curricula and instruction, and create strong family and community partnerships that enhance the school’s magnet theme.