Return to Headlines

WPS schools receive Challenge Awards

WPS schools receive Challenge Awards

Thirteen Wichita Public Schools have been named 2022 Challenge Award winners.

The Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force annually recognizes schools for outstanding achievement and uncommon accomplishment based on Kansas math and reading assessment results and other qualifying factors, specifically the sample size, ethnicity and social-economic status of those taking the test. In addition, graduation rates when calculating high school results, and chronic absenteeism rates for middle and elementary schools, are factored into consideration.

The schools honored are:

Elementary Schools

  • Cleaveland Traditional Magnet Elementary School
  • Earhart Environmental Magnet Elementary School
  • Griffith Elementary School
  • Kensler Elementary School
  • McLean Science and Technology Magnet Elementary School
  • Minneha Core Knowledge Magnet Elementary School
  • Ortiz Elementary School
  • Price-Harris Communications Magnet Elementary School


K8 Schools

  • Horace Mann K-8 Dual Language Magnet


Middle Schools

  • Allison Traditional Magnet Middle School
  • Pleasant Valley Middle School
  • Mayberry Cultural and Fine Arts Magnet Middle School
  • Wilbur Middle School