Return to Headlines

WPS schools receive Challenge Awards

WPS schools receive Challenge Awards

Eight Wichita Public Schools have been named 2021 Challenge Award winners.

The Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force annually recognizes schools for outstanding achievement and uncommon accomplishment based on Kansas math and reading assessment results and other qualifying factors, specifically the sample size, ethnicity and social-economic status of those taking the test. In addition, graduation rates when calculating high school results, and chronic absenteeism rates for middle and elementary schools, are factored into consideration.

Watch a video of the surprise announcements at each school.

The schools honored are:

Middle Schools

  • Allison Traditional Magnet Middle School
  • Brooks Center for STEM and Arts Magnet Middle School
  • Mayberry Cultural and Fine Arts Magnet Middle School



  • Horace Mann K-8 Dual Language Magnet


Elementary Schools

  • Franklin Elementary School
  • Kensler Elementary School
  • Lawrence Elementary School
  • McLean Science and Technology Magnet Elementary School