Return to Headlines

Twelve schools receive Challenge Awards

Twelve Wichita Public Schools have been named Challenge Award winners by the Confidence in Kansas Public Educaton Task Force.Challenge Award principals holding up banners

The Challenge Awards recognizes schools for outstanding achievement and uncommon accomplishment based on Kansas math and reading assessment results and other qualifying factors, specifically the sample size, ethnicity and social-economic status of those taking the test. In addition, graduation rates when calculating high school results, and chronic absenteeism rates for middle and elementary schools, are factored into consideration.

The schools honored are:

Elementary Schools

  • Cleaveland Traditional Magnet Elementary School
  • Earhart Environmental Magnet Elementary School
  • Enterprise Elementary School
  • Franklin Elementary School
  • Kensler Elementary School
  • McLean Science and Technology Magnet Elementary School
  • Minneha Core Knowledge Magnet Elementary School
  • Price-Harris Communications Magnet Elementary School

K8 Schools

  • Horace Mann K-8 Dual Language Magnet

Middle Schools

  • Allison Traditional Magnet Middle School
  • Mayberry Cultural and Fine Arts Magnet Middle School
  • Pleasant Valley Middle School