Return to Headlines

WPS staff named to state-wide education task force

WPS staff named to state-wide education task force 

Superintendent Dr. Alicia Thompson and gifted teacher Tracy Callard are among the members of a state-wide task force that will provide guidance and oversight for federal COVID-19 funds.

Kansas Education Commissioner Randy Watson announced the formation of the Commissioner’s Task Force on Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER) and Emergency Assistance for Nonpublic Schools (EANS) Funding Oversight.

The 19-member task force will provide oversight for $368 million in ESSER funds and $26 million in EANS funds that have been approved by Congress to help schools pay for pandemic-related expenses by September 2023.

Task force members are:

    Dr. Mike Argabright, superintendent, Southern Lyon County Unified School District 252.
    Brad Bergsma, board member, Goodland USD 352.
    Tracy Callard, gifted teacher, Wichita USD 259.
    Dr. Nick Compagnone, superintendent, Catholic Diocese of Salina.
    Sen. Brenda Dietrich, Kansas Legislature, District 20.
    Janet Eaton, superintendent, Catholic Diocese of Wichita.
    Dr. Frank Harwood, superintendent, De Soto USD 232.
    Roberta Lewis, social science teacher, Fort Scott USD 234.
    Lisa Peters, executive director of business, Salina USD 305.
    Sen. Pat Pettey, Kansas Legislature, District 6.
    Jim Porter, chair, Kansas State Board of Education.
    Adam Proffitt, director of budget, State of Kansas.
    Melissa Rooker, executive director, Kansas Children’s Cabinet and Trust Fund.
    Jamie Rumford, superintendent, Scott County USD 466.
    Simeon Russell, executive director of business and operations, Dodge City USD 443.
    Rep. Adam Thomas, Kansas Legislature, District 26.
    Dr. Alicia Thompson, superintendent, Wichita USD 259.
    Janet Waugh, vice chair of the State Board of Education.
    Jason Winbolt, school board member, Spring Hill USD 230.

The new task force will meet weekly.