Return to Headlines

Elementary schools to compete in Battle of the Books

Elementary schools compete in Battle of the Books

Battle of the Books competition A record forty-one elementary schools will participate in this year's Battle of the Books program, sponsored by Library Media Services. The Battle of the Books will be January 22-29. The competitions will be broadcast live on WPS-TV online and on WPS-TV on Cox Cable Channel 20. 

Click here to see the competition schedule. Competitions are at 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. 

The schools that are participating in Battle of the Books are Adams, Anderson, Beech, Black, Bostic, Buckner, Caldwell, Cessna, Chisholm Trail, Clark, Cleaveland, Christa McAuliffe Academy, College Hill,  Colvin, Dodge, Enders, Franklin, Gammon, Gordon Parks Academy, Harry Street, Horace Mann, Hyde, Irving, Isely, Jackson, Jefferson, Kensler, L’Ouverture, McCollom, McLean, OK, Peterson, Pleasant Valley Elementary, Price-Harris, Riverside, Seltzer, Stanley, Washington, White, Woodland and Woodman. 

Battle of the Books is a voluntary reading competition designed for elementary school students. Student teams were given a list of 64 books to read. Each team needs to be familiar with events, characters, and the authors of the books to answer the questions. Students also give a three-minute Book Talk about one title from the list. Each team will draw a book title and will be given fifteen minutes to prepare their presentation about the book. 

Pilar Pedroza, KAKE; Sarah Fletcher, Rachel Skytta, Melissa Murry, Melissa Scheffler and Devon Fasbinder, KWCH; Carly Willis and Stephanie Bergmann, KSN; Carol Hughes, KFDI Radio; Jim Kobbe, Spirit; and Superintendent Dr. Alicia Thompson will host this year’s Battle of the Books competitions. 

When the 2019 competitions are completed, they will be posted on the WPS-TV website for viewing. 

Students have been competing in Battle of the Books since 1995.