Qualified Admissions

Qualified Admissions

What are Qualified Admissions?

Qualified Admissions are a set of standards that students must meet to be admitted to the six state universities in Kansas. (KU Admission standards are different - see below). These standards are set by the Kansas Board of Regents, the governing body for the state universities.
Students graduating from a Kansas High School MUST:

  • Complete the precollege curriculum with at least a 2.0 GPA
    • English, 4 units
    • Social Science, 3 units
    • Natural Science, 3 units – one must be Chemistry or Physics
    • Math, 4 units – Algebra II plus any course with Algebra II as a prerequisite OR 3 units of Math with Algebra II AND a Math ACT score of 22.

AND achieve one of the following:

  • ACT score of 21 or higher ; or SAT score of 980 or higher
  • Graduate in the top one-third of their class and achieve a 2.0 GPA or higher on any college credit taken in high school.

The five universities that require that students meet these criteria are: Emporia State University, Fort Hays State University, Kansas State University, Pittsburg State University and Wichita State University.

The University of Kansas Qualified Admissions:

  • 21 ACT/980 SAT and 3.25 cumulative GPA OR
  • 24 ACT/1090 SAT and 3.0 cumulative GPA